Dan & The Electros, It'S Never Too Late  (1x Hybrid SACD stereo)

OPUS3 records

(1 review) Write a Review
Items on stock ships within 2 days. To order out of stock items, contact us on [email protected] We will update you on availability.
Calculated at Checkout
1x Hybrid SACD stereo
Adding to cart… The item has been added

"This a tribute and thanks from us to the groups, artists, musicians and writers who kept us sitting in front of our portable gramophones in our teenage-rooms breathlessly listening to the latest vinyl from England and USA"

The production and recording of this album is unique in the sense that it combines the delicate balance between the rather special sounds achieved during the period from 1954 - 1963 while at the same time taking advantage of contemporary recording techniques.

In order to achieve this we have, as far as possible, used the original instruments for example the Hammond Chord organ in the tracks where Johnny & the Hurricanes was the aim, and a Fender Stratocaster from 1962 with a Vox AC-30 original Amp from 1964 for the Shadows tracks. Also a UniVox organ from the 50´s where the Tornados song "Telstar" * was the inspiration.

The same philosophy applied to the microphones where we used RCA’s old classic ribbon microphone 44A from 1934 for all of the saxophones and also as "ambience" for the drums, STC 4038 for many guitars together with a couple of valve microphones, all from the 50´s.

However all of the efforts to achieve authenticity would have been to no avail without the creativity and superb musicianship of Bert Östlund. Not only has he written and composed all of the songs capturing the spirit of the era, but also made all of the arrangements as well as playing the guitars and keyboards, including the piano with thumb-tacks!
In addition to the bass and drums, we also have the renowned Pär Westling on Tenor and Baritone saxes on six of the tracks, authentic strings on two and vocals on further two tracks.

*This track is dedicated to the Swedish astronaut Christer Fuglesang: "The Fuglesang Song"

Dan & the Electros are:

Bert Dan Östlund (East) Guitars and Keyboards

Roger Ekman Electric and Upright Basses

Håkan Tingshagen Drums and Percussion

Special guest: Per Westling Tenor and Baritone Saxes

Listen to music samples

       01. Happy Feet

       03. Shaken not Stirred

       04. Greyhound Ride
       07. Hey Man
       10. Dreamland
       12. The Fuglesang Song
       13. Time Out
       14. Pianoogie
       15. Fat Monday


01. Happy Feet 2´28
02. New Adventures 2´38
03. Shaken not Stirred 2´08
04. Greyhound Ride 2´42
05. March of the Harp 2´09
06. Snake Rattle an Roll 2´13
07. Hey Man 2´18
08. Pick it Up 2´27
09. Sting On 2´14
10. Dreamland 2´29
11. Rush Hour 2´24
12. The Fuglesang Song 2´43
13. Time Out 2´20
14. Pianoogie 2´12
15. Fat Monday 2´22
16. Raindance 2´14
17. Downbeat 2´26
18. Rocking Moose 2´16
19. Soulfood 2´11
20. It's Never too Late 2´50

All Music composed and arranged by Bert Östlund

SACD recording carry 2 year warranty. Vinyl records carry 2 year warranty if treated properly. More info find here. Consumable product. No returns of used product.

1 Review Hide Reviews Show Reviews

  • 5

    Posted by Lucy on 23rd Nov 2021

    Great-sounding tribute to Duane Eddy/Ventures/Johnny and Hurricanes instros, Sound in SACD player is worth its price.