TAPE - Benny Waters Live at The  Pawnshop

(2 reviews) Write a Review
Products on stock are shipped within 2 days. Out of stock items are shipped usually within 2 weeks.
Calculated at Checkout
3x 1/4inch RTM SM468 Tape, Metal Reel 265mm (10,5inch), NAB Hub, IEC eq.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Featuring: Björn Milder

In April 1976, at the age of 74, the legendary swing saxophonist Benny Waters made a momentous appearance at the internationally famous jazzclub Stampen, often known as “The Pawnshop”, in Stockholm.
This CD is a memento of this concert and a wonderful musician. After studying in the early 20´s Benny Waters went on to teach with a degree of success that can be measured by the fact that two of his pupils were Harry Carney and Johnny Hodges. Benny went on to record with a number of bands including among others Clarence Williams, King Oliver and Charlie Johnson.
By the time he moved to Paris in 1952, Benny had in the preceding years been a member of many outstanding bands including Fletcher Henderson, Jimmie Lunceford, Claude Hopkins and Hot Lips Page. Following this he became a freelance soloist for the rest of his career, thus making possible the visits, 13 in all, to Scandinavia and Sweden. Lucky 13 for jazz-lovers!
Worthy of note is the fact that the pianist on this recording is the late, great and unfortunatelythe most “underrecorded” Swedish swing piano player Björn Milder, who was considered by many visiting musicians to be “world class”. And they should know! Includes: Some of these Days, Summertime, Cherokee, Sophisticated Lady, Indiana, Dark Eays, Blues Amore etc.

Listen to music samples

      01. Out Of Nowhere (Green - Heyman)

       02. Some Of These Days (S. Brooks)

      03. Summertime (G. Gershwin - Heyward)
      06. Sophisticated Lady (Ellington-Mills-Parish)

     08. I Can't Get Started (V. Duke - J. Gershwin)

01. Out Of Nowhere (Green - Heyman) 4´17
02. Some Of These Days (S. Brooks) 8´12
03. Summertime (G. Gershwin - Heyward) 6´44
04. Ziggin' And A Zaggin' (B. Waters) 5´32
05. Cherokee (R. Noble) 7´03
06. Sophisticated Lady (Ellington-Mills-Parish) 7´20
07. Dark Eyes (Traditional) 8´17
08. I Can't Get Started (V. Duke - J. Gershwin) 4´57
09. Indiana (J.F. Hanley - B. McCDonald) 9´11
10. Blues Amore (B. Waters) 9´35

Reel audio tapes carry warranty of 2 years if treated properly. Consumable product. No returns of used product.

2 Reviews Hide Reviews Show Reviews

  • 5
    Five Stars

    Posted by Dominic on 23rd Nov 2021

    Nice album. A must for jazz lovers.

  • 5
    Great music and recordings

    Posted by Becheanu Sorin on 23rd Nov 2021

    Great music and great recordings my favourite after Jazz at the Pawnshop.